Read, Write, Run, Roam

What a difference a year makes: Belgrade’s new bridge


The Ada Bridge was nearing completion before I left. When I returned this summer,  I thought it looked pretty sharp, especially at sunset.

The new bridge is the the widest mixed-use (highway and rail) asymmetric stay cable bridge in the world, and the one the largest cable-stayed bridges in the world. What does that mean? It means that there’s a heck of a big pole (pylon) with super strong cables holding up cars, trains, bikers and pedestrians. And that sums up my knowledge about bridge engineering.

It also sums up my knowledge about what to call this thing: is it New Bridge, which is what people called it before I left, or Ada Bridge, what the internet is telling me? Ada Bridge certainly has a better ring to it.

No matter what this bridge is called, it’s a welcome addition to the city. Not only am I happy to see attractive, world-recognized architecture being built in Belgrade, I’m also happy for all the people who no longer have to sit (as long) in the horrific traffic over the Sava River. And if they are stuck in traffic, at least they get views like this.

Click to link to original image

One response

  1. Miroslav

    Beautiful bridge-Miroslav Serbia

    December 22, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

