Read, Write, Run, Roam

Pet Peeve Petak


(Petak is Friday in Serbian…)

I don’t know if this will be a regular thing, but I thought I’d focus on one of the annoyances of travel this Friday. And the winner is…

crappy hotel hair dryers!

This is a European special. It’s basically a small fan that gently blows air on your head. This is a nice way to dry a manicure, but when I actually want dry hair (a MUST for RHOB) it’s not exactly what I’m looking for. There are two speeds to this kind of model: slow and super slow. The only thing exciting about this hairdryer is the mystery of whether the air will be warm, cool or scorching hot.

Ok, so I’m laying it on a little thick. But riddle me this: why are hotel hair dryers usually so terrible? According to a random website, women make up 50% of business travelers and make 80% of the travel decisions. And most women use hair dryers.* Yet most chain hotels offer a dryer that’s akin to someone waving a palm leaf over my head–without any of the luxury. So here’s a tip from RHOB, hoteliers–look out for the ladies. And if you do, advertise it: I’m more likely to book with you than lug my hairdryer everywhere.

*Totally made up fact, but it SEEMS true.

Leave a Reply

