Read, Write, Run, Roam

Welcome to the Jungle: A Guns n’ Roses Tribute in Zemun


We recently hosted our last (and ninth!) group of American visitors last week, aka FK Milos. They saw the usual sights: Kalemegdan, Knez Mihailova, and… Jailbreak, a local Guns n’ Roses tribute band.

An FK Milos member spotted this poster on the right. After serious consideration (about ten seconds) we decided to see how Serbia did Slash, Axl, and the less memorable members of the band.

Jailbreak was playing at Klub Fest, a local music venue in Zemun. It would appear that Klub Fest is the equivalent of an American “18-and-over” club, which in Belgrade means “13 and over.” I felt like I was babysitting. In 1989. I haven’t seen that many GnR shirts since I was at the Jersey Shore in middle school.

Other than the tots, the Klub was a nice venue. It’s small, smoky, and even has reserved tables for those mysterious Beogradjani who schedule things in advance. We made ourselves comfortable by the bar and wondered when the band would come on stage.

Around midnight, the lights dimmed and the show went on. “Axl” had the requisite long red hair and lanky figure. “Slash” had a long curly wig and was, um, less lanky.

Okay, so maybe they didn’t exactly look like the real thing. But have you seen Axl lately? I think this is a major improvement.

The band started off with an acoustic set, then got the house rocking with an electric set after intermission. The acoustics of Klub Fest were decent, the beer was cold, and the crowd was awesome. Zemun may not be Paradise City, but it was close enough for our own band of Belgrade-loving, fist-pumping Americans. Rock on, Zemun.

Jailbreak plays clubs around Belgrade and throughout the Balkans. For the Klub Fest schedule, click HERE. Jailbreak’s Facebook page can be found HERE

4 responses

  1. Agnieszka

    ..and my husband asked me not to listen to GnR too loud coz it’s cheezy. But I cannot help that I love “Sweet Child of mine”…..and we live in Zemun!! How could I have missed this out!!

    October 13, 2011 at 10:35 am

  2. Oh no! I think they play there a couple of times a year, so you have other chances. The electric set is much better, though they did a pretty good acoustic version of Patience. I know they’re cheesy….but I love them anyway.

    October 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm

  3. Agnieszka

    that’s OK I was kidding…. a bit. Never been to any tribute gigs tho. But I still like GnR even if Im in my late twenties. Cant help it! What I found very interesting in Serbs is that their music knowledge from 80s – 90s is very impressive.

    October 13, 2011 at 3:12 pm

  4. So true. I also love that radio stations will play 80s music, turbo folk, 90s music and old ballads in the same hour.

    October 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

