Read, Write, Run, Roam

Bizarre Budapest II: A perplexing people mover


Riding a scary Budapest “vertical escalator” in four steps:


Step one: See that gold ledge on the right? That’s the platform. Step on it before it goes up too high, or risk hitting your head. Or miss it entirely and look like an idiot in front of everyone else waiting for the elevator.

Step two: Pretend you’re in something larger than a coffin.

Step three: face outward. (You don’t actually have to do this, but everyone else does.)

Step four: When you get to your desired floor, hop off quickly. Otherwise, the ledge merely flips over–yes, flips–and you may have to learn how to say “Doctor, I think I broke my leg” in Hungarian.

Step five: congratulate yourself for (1) not dying and (2) refraining from pretending you’re in a Harry Potter movie. Out loud.

Have a happy weekend, everyone!

8 responses

  1. VP

    Cool stuff. There’s actually one elevator like that (_exactly_ like that) in my faculty here in Prague.. I thought we were unique, but I guess not! 🙂

    Did you try riding all the way to the top?

    October 7, 2011 at 3:49 pm

  2. I don’t think there are too many of them, so you should still consider it unique! I wasn’t “exactly” supposed to be there–someone told me about it and it’s a government building that I sort of bluffed my way into–but I wish I had ridden it.

    October 7, 2011 at 7:31 pm

  3. FiReSTaRT

    Sounds like a blast. Too bad we’re too scared of lawsuits in North America 😦

    October 8, 2011 at 4:00 pm

  4. So true! This would NEVER occur in the U.S.

    October 8, 2011 at 11:10 pm

  5. milena

    there’s one of these in Belgrade too 🙂 They are called Paternoster and they are a lot of fun to ride.

    October 13, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  6. Where? They are so fun. You’d never see them in America—too many lawsuits.

    October 13, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  7. milena

    It’s in the old Railroad company building (Železnice Srbije) on the corner of Nemanjina and Sarajevska. I had a chance to ride it a couple of years ago, it was quite fun. people working in that building were using it every day normally.

    There is also a small museum about trains and railroads in Serbia in the same building. It’s worth a visit 🙂

    October 21, 2011 at 10:27 am

  8. I had no idea! I know where that building is–will try to squeeze in a visit!

    October 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

