Read, Write, Run, Roam

Orange you glad for cafes in Belgrade?


In America, coca-cola is sometimes served with a slice of lemon. In Mexico and Central America, it’s served with a slice of lime. In Serbia, a slice of orange is added. It tastes quite nice, though I’m not sure why it’s done. Oranges aren’t exactly native to Serbia.

People might wonder why I was ordering a soda at a cafe. I could have easily bought a bottle from a kiosk and walked around with it. Yet I rarely see someone (who’s not a tourist) walking around with a drink in hand. Take-away coffee is advertised as something special. If you want a drink, Belgrade seems to say, sit down and enjoy it. Watch people walking by. Read the paper–waitresses will bring one to you if you ask. And as a bonus surprise, here’s a slice of orange.

Before I moved to Serbia, it would have taken me five minutes to drink this bottle. I would have bought it on the street and chugged it while I was running errands. Now it’s a social event that takes thirty or forty minutes. I don’t think I’ve done anything to change Belgrade, but Belgrade has certainly changed me.

 

This post title is from one of the worst American jokes ever told. 

2 responses

  1. Catherine

    WOW, no to-go drinks? Belgrade has changed you!

    September 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  2. I know–I used to think that the to-go cup was the greatest invention ever!

    I still bring water bottles on car trips.

    September 28, 2011 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

