Read, Write, Run, Roam

In Corfu, a blogger’s paradise


I’ve almost completed my posts about Balkan Bonanza ’11, the road trip Muz and I took in August. After driving through Bosnia, Montenegro, and Albania, we finished our adventure on the island of Corfu in Greece.

Corfu had almost everything we could ask for, like this

and this,

and this:

The only thing Corfu lacked was a good internet connection. (Don’t get me started on why “nicer” hotels have bad or overpriced wifi. That could be a whole other blog.)  Most people wouldn’t care about hotel internet connection, but between my obsession with posting Sunday-Friday and Muz preparing to return to work, an internet connection was a priority. So when we read that the Corfu Starbucks had one of the best views in town, we drove over to check it out.

I’m not the slightest bit ashamed to say I love Starbucks. Yes, they might give home-grown coffee shops a run for their money (or not). Yes, the shops may contain an odd menagerie of yuppies, hipsters, and homeless people. Yes, sometimes the coffee tastes burned. Yet Starbucks also has fast, free wireless and fancy large coffee drinks on steroids. GO AMERICA. Starbucks is a beacon to this travel blogger. In Corfu, it’s a beacon with one of the best views on the island.

This is Mouse Island, a.k.a. Pontikonisi. The building on the island is Pantokrator Monastery, which was built during the 13th Century. The island is named Pontikonisi because the Monastery’s staircase is supposed to look like a mouse’s tail. From our vantage point, it just looked like heaven. Sugary, caffeinated heaven.

Maybe I should have been ashamed that I was sitting on a canvas director’s chair instead of a fortress wall. Perhaps I should have felt guilty that I wasn’t exactly soaking in Greek culture. Mostly, I just felt relaxed by the gorgeous view, a little sick from drinking a frappuccino, and comfortable knowing that good travel memories can happen anywhere.

5 responses

  1. Good Blog! A couple of years ago I drove through Bosnia and Montenegro but didn’t have the courage to tackle Albania!

    September 21, 2011 at 10:53 am

  2. We were more optimistic than courageous! It was a tough drive but worth the effort.

    September 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

  3. I just have read dosen of your posts about Bg i Srb, I am glad that you like our country and people and also want to thank you because you write interesting texts about your experiences here!
    i just wanted to ask , do you know about realy important bond between Corfu and Serbia?

    October 3, 2011 at 11:44 pm

  4. I know a little about it–Corfu saved Serbians who were retreating from Austrians (right?) in World War I. Our language teacher told us about the Blue Graveyard song, but I don’t remember much. And of course, almost every Serbian I know here has been to Greece!

    Thanks for your kind words about the blog. It has been a nice way for me to share Serbia with people in the U.K. and U.S.!

    October 4, 2011 at 7:56 am

  5. Really nice blog, great photos! Corfu is such a beautiful place to visit! Thanks for sharing.

    March 2, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

