Read, Write, Run, Roam

The slow retreat of summer…and RHOB


It may be late September, but it still feels like summer in Belgrade. It won’t last much longer, sadly, and most Beogradjani seem to be savoring time outdoors while they can. This picture may not seem like much, but it’s one of my favorite summer Belgrade sights: people relaxing over drinks in shady, secluded courtyards. Personal cafes, if you will.

Late September doesn’t just signify the end of summer: it’s the one year anniversary of this blog…and the final weeks of my time in Belgrade. I can’t describe how fast the year has gone by, or how conflicted I feel about leaving. I still have a few weeks left to make the most of my time here, and I intend to savor it just as much as these men seem to be savoring summer weather. I’ve got a list, but suggestions are welcome! Feel free to leave them in the comments.

7 responses

  1. Andrej

    “…and the final weeks of my time in Belgrade.”

    :O

    Does that mean you’re going back to the States? Is this the end of this blog? 😦

    September 19, 2011 at 9:36 am

  2. Agnieszka

    I am so sad you are leaving Belgrade soon. Started to read your blog from the very first week of my trip to Serbia and got so much inspirations from you. And the knowledge about locals 🙂 It’s a new territory for me now but don’t have so much plans to travel around Balkans like you so I envy you all these trips!. I hope the last weeks/days of Indian summer in Belgrade will be as good as your whole trip to Balkans.

    September 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  3. Yes, I’m returning to the States–Washington, DC to be specific. I don’t know if its the end of this blog, or the start of a new one back home. Still trying to figure it all out. I’d like to keep blogging under RHOB though…

    September 19, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  4. Thank you for your great comment. I learned so much from my friends and readers here in Serbia, and I’m glad you got something out of it too. The trips are crazy, I know, but I was obsessed with getting to know and see as much of the Balkans as I could. I figured I could always collapse when I returned to the US completely broke. 🙂

    September 19, 2011 at 8:06 pm

  5. Bogi

    😦 😥

    September 20, 2011 at 12:14 am

  6. Morgan

    After Beograd, Washington will seem so dull! It’s a one company town. But srećno anyway! And definitely keep a blog going – you choose such interesting material.

    September 20, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  7. True–it won’t seem nearly as colorful as Belgrade! I’ll have to find the wacky side of the city and blog about it.

    September 21, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

