Read, Write, Run, Roam

Tipsy on Chipsy


I write about food a lot (too much?) but readers might be surprised to discover that I am a fairly healthy eater. Aside from my newfound ice cream addiction, I tend not to eat many processed foods. Of course there’s always an exception. Mine is potato chips. Specifically, tzatziki chipsy.

I rarely ate chips in America, but guests of ours proclaimed that eating “international” potato chips was something I shouldn’t deprive myself of. While we were on a road trip to Dubrovnik, we tried about five different kinds of chips, with modest success. When we opened the bag of Chipsy tzatziki chips, it was like a porthole into a new universe. A universe of ridged salty goodness. It’s similar to but better than sour cream and onion chips. I think it’s the hint of dill that moves tzatziki chipsy to a whole new level. It’s also difficult to find outside of Serbia and Greece, so there’s an additional “gotta get it” feeling when I see it elsewhere.

Chipsy is the main potato chip game in the Balkans. There must be at least 10 different flavors. I can say with authority that tzatziki is the best flavor, and mladi sir (young cheese) is the most disappointing. The worst, by far, is hot dog.

Let’s not even examine why “hot dog” should be a chip flavor. Let’s just say it does actually taste like a hot dog, and that means it’s gross. Of course Muz loved them. Muz also ate hot dogs every day for three years straight. And readers, I married him.

So a word to the wise traveler: try potato chips in new countries!  If you’re like me, you’ll like (most of) the new flavors and find yourself singing, “Errybody in the club getting Chipsy” until your husband threatens to pull the car over. Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. Mel

    I’m just catching up on the blog – remember the nasty chips we had in Thailand???

    October 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  2. Fish chips! They were awful. But the other chips there were awesome.

    October 5, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

