Read, Write, Run, Roam

“Hot” sights in Belgrade


This may not be the most picturesque vision in Belgrade, but it’s one of the most common in the summertime. No, it’s not women in short dresses; that’s actually quite picturesque. It’s the home-grown approach to catch water dripping from air conditioners.

Now that Belgrade is in the throes of a heat wave, bottles are set up all over town. I like to think that the type of bottle usually corresponds with the type of store in a building. The hair salon by my apartment uses an old shampoo bottle and most of the bars or convenience stores will use a spare drink bottle. I’ve even seen a bar using an old Jelen bottle, but didn’t have my camera with me at the time.

I’m  a huge fan of the bottle system, because it prevents the sickening feeling I get when an air conditioner drips on me. As it turns out, the water is not poison-filled-icy-nastiness, but it feels that way all the same.

Thanks, Belgrade shopkeepers, for keeping our streets drip-free and turning the A/C on, despite fears of promaja! Now if we could all work on opening up more than one window on busses…

2 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Your buses comment reminds me of another bus story from Belgrade. Apparently, country of Japan donated some city buses to Belgrade; however, they had a condition, they would periodically inspect the buses for cleanliness and AC had to be ON. As you know fear of ‘promaja’ is a big deal and I actually had family warning me that Japanese buses have AC on and to watch for ‘promaja’.

    August 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm

  2. We still have those buses! I’m not so sure that they’ve held their end of the Air Con bargain, though…

    August 28, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

