Read, Write, Run, Roam

Road trip rakija


Sorry for the late and short posts these past few days, but it’s not going to get better until tomorrow. I just returned from a whirlwind drive around Bosnia. Ten and a half hours in the car, three highway detours, two King ice cream bars, and one very forgiving police officer later, Majmun and I are back in Belgrade. The highway detours were frustrating but we found our silver lining in the form of a rakija and cheese stand in the middle of nowhere.

Business is good, judging from the Mercedes parked on the right. We stopped in for a peek and wound up buying a bottle of walnut rakija (orahovaca) before trudging out on a doomed mission to Jajce. More on that tomorrow. After all our adventures today a sip of rakija is long overdue…

One response

  1. I can’t wait to read your impressions of Bosnia. I found it so different from Serbia/Croatia. Please tell me you went to Sarajevo. And had cevapes. I will lick my computer screen if you have pictures 😀

    ps My husband is drooling over that picture of the bottles 😉

    July 22, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

