Read, Write, Run, Roam

(Kinda) Church on Sunday: Center Court, Wimbledon


You can bet your life that most Serbians were deep in prayer this Sunday–in front of the television, watching Novak Djokovic BEAT (!) Rafael Nadal for the Wimbledon men’s final.

I had grand plans to watch the match near the big tennis center by Sky Fitness, but we got caught in the awful mess that is the summertime Hungarian-Serbian border. I got back just in time to see sweet victory handed to a number-one Serbian son.

It’s hard to express how happy I am about this result. Not only is it well-deserved in my totally biased opinion, it means good things for Serbia. As Chelsea Handler’s recent comments attest, there is a fundamental and deep ignorance about this country. Whether it’s the lack of attention given to Eastern Europe in textbooks, the myopic viewpoint of the West (not just the U.S.), most people associate Serbia with war. I don’t think people should forget about the Balkan wars; it just shouldn’t be the only thing they know about the region. Now, when I tell people I live in Serbia, instead of the somber, “what’s it like?” I might be asked, “how’s your tennis game?”

Not as good as his. Or Ivanovic, Tipsarević, or most elementary school team players. But I digress.

A hearty congratulations to Serbia and Djokovic. Ladies, he’s single, so feel free to come to Serbia and get to know the man and the country. As far as I can tell, his only flaw is that he has a poodle instead of a French Bulldog. I guess no one’s perfect.

6 responses

  1. Mel

    His dog is named Pierre! There was a great WSJ article mocking all of them the other day. By the way his mother is gorgeous and could be his sister.

    July 5, 2011 at 3:34 am

  2. Not surprised about his mother-he’s a good looking guy and the women here are absurdly attractive. I love that he named him Pierre! A lot of big, tough looking guys have small dogs here. And they usually have American names too: Barry, Bobby, Johnny. It’s hilarious.

    July 5, 2011 at 7:30 am

  3. Marjan,MT

    Actually, the dog is not his. Dog was a gift to his girlfriend. He had a S.O.P. (Serb-Саша;Eng-Sasha) before he moved to Monte Carlo. S.O.P Breed – Eng. Serbian Defense Dog (Orgin. a mix of Wolf and a Rottweiler.)

    Like I mentioned, he has a girl and this is how she looks like:

    July 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  4. JJ

    He’s not really single he has a longtime girlfriend named Jelena Ristic who lives with him in Monaco.

    July 6, 2011 at 2:08 am

  5. JJ, you’re breaking heats across America! I thought he had a girlfriend (blonde, right?) but didn’t realize how serious it was.

    July 6, 2011 at 11:24 am

  6. Really? There have been articles about how the dog is part of his “team.” I’m a little bummed because I liked that a big tennis star would admit to liking a little poodle. Love this video by the way. Jelena is really cute. I like how friendly she looks–not like some of the pouting beauties I see around here.

    July 6, 2011 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

