Read, Write, Run, Roam

Sudden realizations in Belgrade


You know what this poster at the National Theater in Belgrade made me realize? We don’t have squirrels in downtown Belgrade. I don’t think I’ve seen one since I’ve been here.

That’s pretty strange to an urban American, especially one with roots in New York and DC. I almost miss the annoying little rodents. Kidding! Seriously, people, they’re just rats who climb trees. Don’t think they’re cute. Even when they wear tiny hats.

The poster also made me think that this was possibly the funniest and most ridiculous name for a dance performance. I might just have to see it.

5 responses

  1. Try parks. I saw them in Tashmaidan and Pionir parks.

    June 30, 2011 at 10:29 am

  2. I go there all the time, but I usually have the dog, so I imagine they are not eager to run around us then. In the US squirrels are everywhere–on the sidewalks, going through the garbage, sitting on windowsills. I’m fine with them being more scarce here.

    June 30, 2011 at 10:48 am

  3. Anonymous

    One squirrel likes to come to my garden but only during September and October. To collect nuts, I presume. It visits neighboring gardens as well. I live near Kosutnjak so that’s probably where it lives.

    June 30, 2011 at 11:50 am

  4. Kuma

    Are you sure it is a dance performance and not a horror movie?

    June 30, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  5. I am hearing reports that squirrels exist here but are elusive. Consider yourself lucky! One squirrel is nice…I don’t think any would survive in my area because of all the stray cats.

    June 30, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

