Read, Write, Run, Roam

Back in my day…


You know those cranky old people who insist that fruit was much better back in their day, before it was flown halfway around the world/sprayed with pesticides/grown from bio-engineered seeds? No? Well, now you do.

Belgrade is fully in strawberry season, and it’s amazing. Seriously. Maybe it’s because I haven’t eaten one in 9 months, but these are some of the best strawberries I’ve tasted in a long time. The 1990s sanctions created a lot of strife here, but an odd silver lining is that most farmers couldn’t use pesticides or engineered seeds. The result is strawberries that taste as good as they look.

Anyway, I bought a ton of the fruit to make a strawberry tart, but then I wound up eating most of them. Besides, the recipe called for cornstarch and I have no idea how to get that here. And it’s healthier to eat strawberries whole, right? All this is to say that when my kuma comes tomorrow (YAY!), there will be no strawberry pie upon her arrival. And probably no strawberries left, either. Sorry.

10 responses

  1. Aleksandar

    Cornstarch is Gustin.Find Gustin 🙂

    Pozdrav

    May 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  2. Aunt Lo

    I give up, what is a kuma?

    May 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  3. Erasfa

    next time when you’re shopping in green market, look out for wild strawberries. They are tiny but smell and taste amazing.

    Re: cornstarch

    Ask for Gustin/Gu:sti:n/ by Dr.Oetker or Čvrstin C. It’s the same thing. Dr.Oetker is more expensive because it’s German brand.

    May 25, 2011 at 12:33 pm

  4. Kuma

    That’s OK. Your kuma prefers all meat, all the time anyway. I AM SO EXCITED! I will see you in 23 hours…

    May 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm

  5. I will take my kuma to Kalenic for sure. Thanks for the tip about the corn starch, too. One last question: do you know what I should ask for when looking for “heavy cream?” Maybe I can pull off this pie after all…

    May 25, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  6. Sorry, I should have mentioned that. It’s the maid of honor at my wedding. (I try to give our guests Serbian nicknames, but this is an actual title in Serbian.

    May 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm

  7. Thanks! Without reader comments, this would be a totally different city for me.

    May 25, 2011 at 5:33 pm

  8. Erasfa

    Heavy cream = slatka pavlaka (sweet cream)

    May 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

  9. Thanks! Let me know if you like strawberry pita….

    May 26, 2011 at 8:07 am

  10. Erasfa

    You’re welcome 🙂 I like jagoda pitu 😉

    May 26, 2011 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

