Read, Write, Run, Roam

Macedonia tells it like it is


I saw this pack of cigarettes on our recent trip to Macedonia, and couldn’t resist taking a photo:

The cyrillic roughly says, “smoking may kill you.” If this isn’t enough to deter customers, there’s a photo of cancerous lungs on the back.

I’m not sure that this has caused anyone to stop smoking, but it’s probably caused people to stop eating. Yikes.

These aren’t unique to Macedonia. I saw a similar pack in Hungary, and I imagine it’s somewhat common through Europe. However, it never fails to startle me. There’s a lot more to Macedonia than packs of cigarettes, though. I’ll write more about our trip there tomorrow.

2 responses

  1. Marjan,MT

    I saw the same thing in Vancouver/Canada. They’re doing the same thing…

    May 13, 2011 at 2:55 am

  2. tina

    I haven’t seen it in EU yet, but I know it’s coming if it hasn’t already arrived.

    This type of campaign seems like a big expense for what will likely be little deterrence.

    May 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

