Read, Write, Run, Roam

Fields…and trunks…of gold


We spent yesterday driving from Dubrovnik to Belgrade. I wouldn’t recommend doing the drive in one day, but we were rewarded for our stamina with Croatian gold. What’s Croatian gold? It’s the term I invented for these fields of yellow flowers/plants we passed on the drive from Zagreb to Belgrade.

I have no idea what these are-they’re in agricultural fields, so I presume it’s a crop of some sort. They’re especially gorgeous in the setting sunlight.

That wasn’t the only “Croatian gold” we saw. At a rest stop before we reached Zagreb, we saw several cars selling golden cheese-yes, cheese-our of their cars. I’ve seen a lot of things being sold out of cars in the Balkans, but gourmet cheese wasn’t one of them. Until yesterday.

We were interested in the cheese, but in too much of a hurry to try them out. Besides, RHOB is willing to take risks, but sampling cheese that’s been sitting in a hot car all day isn’t one of them.

6 responses

  1. Your blog is fantastic! I love your impressions of that beautiful, crazy country! Have you had cevapi in Sarajevo? It will change your life…

    April 27, 2011 at 10:52 am

  2. Okay, this is funny…I just found/commented on your blog and this appears to be unrelated. Great minds and all that. I did have Sarajevo cevap and I agree, it’s amazing. We had some in Novi Pazar and, oddly, Dubrovnik, that was equally good. I hear there’s a good Sarajevo cevap place in Belgrade but haven’t made it there yet. I’m afraid that I’ll eat there too often if it’s the real thing! Great work on your blog, by the way.

    April 27, 2011 at 11:21 am

  3. Seka

    It’s a filed of Rapeseed (Brassica napus), there are a lot of them here in Vojvodina where I live, and it looks beautiful in the spring, with those yellow flowers 🙂

    April 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  4. Thank you for the information! I’m planning to drive to Vojvodina this weekend-I’ll look forward to seeing more fields of gold.

    April 28, 2011 at 7:43 am

  5. tina

    I drove from DU to BG in one day, too, with no map beyond the eastern border of Bosnia – couldn’t find one to buy in Dubrovnik! Once I was inside Serbia, I was driving blind, just looking for signs to Beograd. Plus, I was exhausted and unable to use my Croatian mobile phone to ring ahead to my friend who was waiting for me. It also didn’t help when the road signs went Cyrrilic on me two-thirds of the way through BiH. I laughed at myself alot that day – and ended up at a rave at Kalemegdan by the end of it – but swore I’d never attempt that drive in one day again. I’m far too accustomed to long-haul drives on US Interstates!

    May 3, 2011 at 12:30 am

  6. I know those fields very well. Absolutely beautiful!

    June 20, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

