Read, Write, Run, Roam

Who runs Belgrade? More than 40,000 people.


Yesterday, approximately 40,000 people ran the Belgrade marathon. RHOB’s training has been lackluster this year, so I entered the 5K fun run instead.

The 5K was more about fun than run. People walked, rollerbladed, or took their dogs for the 3.2 mile trip. Even so, I was impressed with the number of Beogradjani running. Part of the race went around Slavija Circle. I’ve often found myself jogging through its intersections, but it’s usually to avoid being hit by a car.

Later that day, Milos and I walked to the finish line to cheer on the distance runners. I was kicking myself for letting my running regimen fall to the wayside. Milos was, literally, falling to the wayside.

Let’s just say he’s not a sporting dog.

Congratulations to all runners. If you’re inspired to run Belgrade yourself, there’s a “Women’s Race” on June 4th on Ada, and a “Race Through History” on October 12th in Kalemegdan. And if you’re training in Belgrade, feel free to check out and add to the Belgrade route webpage I found here.

3 responses

  1. BD

    I LOVE the picture of Milos on the ground, waiting for his tummy to be rubbed!

    April 18, 2011 at 9:16 pm

  2. He was a big hit. As I congratulated runners, they were petting Milos. Even a policeman came over to say hello!

    April 19, 2011 at 6:51 am

  3. blackesquire

    Very funny post. Milos is my kind of dog.

    August 12, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

