Read, Write, Run, Roam

Iconic international photos? Pisa Cake


World's strongest dog


Are we the type of lunatics that would go to Pisa solely to take this photo? Obviously, yes.

I probably wouldn’t have insisted on a day trip to Pisa if the idea of this photo hasn’t entered my mind. For some crazy reason, I thought that Pisa was a tiny, dusty town whose only claim to fame was a poorly built tower. Mea culpa, Pisa. It’s a charming, walled city that is centered around the Piazza del Miracoli. The Piazza hosts the tower, tons of (rare) open green space, and a series of marble buildings that inspire awe. Outside of the square, shops and restaurants line the streets.

Pisa came into great power during the middle of the 11th century, and Pisans took to calling the city “the new Rome.” There’s even a Romulus and Remus statue in the Piazza. But eventually the economic tides turned, and Pisa was under Florentine rule by the early 15th century. The city retains part of its former opulence, and it’s worth a visit for anyone driving through Tuscany.

If the off-season crowds in Pisa are any indication, I am the last person to know that there’s more to Pisa than the leaning tower. But if you’re looking for additional information, I found this link helpful.

Even if Pisa had been awful, I think the drive was worth these pictures. Miloš, however, might disagree.

This is an affront to my dignity

3 responses

  1. Nice post. Although I have seen hundreds of similar pictures, I have never seen a dog holding up the tower!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:57 am

  2. He is small but mighty! I like your blog, by way. I’ll have to try Borovničevec during my next trip to Slovenia.

    March 27, 2011 at 10:00 pm

  3. You’re going to have such a great time. We also explored some smaller towns north of Rome and had the most amazing food. I’m not sure how I’m going to go back to turkey sandwiches when we return…
    Let me know how the trip goes because I think that we’re going to drive to Venice sometime this year. It’s only 6 hours from Belgrade.

    March 27, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

