Read, Write, Run, Roam

Ubistvo, She Wrote.


There are several ways to learn Serbian: books, private lessons, eavesdropping in cafes. And then there’s the RHOB way: Fox Crime.

 

Fox Crime is a channel that airs American crime and mystery shows in English, with Serbian subtitles. Some of them are good (like Numbers) and others are just plain awful, like Early Edition. It’s a show about a man whose cat brings him a newspaper from the future every day. Seriously.

Was there a second season?

I like mysteries, so I watch Fox Crime all the time. The subtitles are a bit repetitive but that helped me learn vocabulary. Using that vocabulary has been a bit of a challenge, though. I tried incorporating it into our Serbian lessons with mixed results:

  1. Volim da vidim Ubistvo, napisala (I like to watch Murder, She Wrote) made my teacher laugh.
  2. Dole, imam oruzje (get down, I have a weapon) was met with raised eyebrows.
  3. Zašto je DNA kaze DNK u Srbski? (Why is DNA called DNK in Serbian?) was answered with a puzzled ne znam (I don’t know), and an implicit “why do you care?”

I’ve stopped trying to use my Fox Crime words in class, but I can’t help wondering if they’ll come in handy one day. Will I become the Miss Marple of Belgrade? Will the Serbian FBI need my special insight to solve crimes? I’m not sure what a ukelele-playing, American housewife/blogger can offer them, but hey, uhvatiti loši muškarac-let’s catch the bad guys. As long as I don’t have to work with a psychic cat.

I'm talking to you, buddy.

3 responses

  1. Kiselina – Acid (in DNK – DNA)

    January 10, 2011 at 7:34 pm

  2. Excellent! Thanks for the info. I’m on my way to becoming a crime solver…

    January 10, 2011 at 8:29 pm

  3. BD

    Wait a minute! Who wouldn’t love to work with a psychic cat??

    January 10, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

