Read, Write, Run, Roam

Srecan Bozic!


Before you think my keyboard went haywire, that means Merry Christmas in Serbian. I think. Maybe my teacher is trying to mess with me, and I just titled this blog post monkey poopypants.

This Christmas, we went to the green market to pick up provisions for our dinner. The green market is awesome because almost everything is straight from the farm. However, this means precaution is in order: I keep a close eye on my greens for slugs, and I’ve washed what looked like chicken manure off my eggs. Despite that, the food is worth it. So I marched to the market for my Christmas chicken.

I was worried that our chicken would be too organic, so I asked if all the giblets were removed. “Of course,” was the reply. When I came home I realized I should have asked if the NECK was still going to be on the bird. I had seen the neck on the chicken, but I thought that it would be removable. Why? Because that’s how Whole Foods does it.

I know, city girl, privileged, yadda yadda yadda. Say what you will. Chicken necks are gross. I asked muz, my hunter husband, to remove it. He refused but encouraged me to hack it off. Phrases like “you have to saw it” were used. I pretended I was Dexter and hacked away.

Thankfully, I managed to get the job done. The chicken was delicious* and we had a great dinner. Merry Christmas to family and friends, fair and fowl.

XO, RHOB

* Preheat oven to 450 with roasting pan in oven. Brush bird with rosemary infused olive oil (or regular olive oil). Stuff cavity with halved onion and rosemary. Put 1/2 cup white wine (I think you could sub wine with chicken stock) and 3 cloves of garlic, crushed, in the roasting pan. Throw in rest of onion on bottom of roasting pan.  Place bird in pan and do not touch for 40 minutes-that’s the most important part. Test thigh for correct temperature, let rest for 10 minutes. Delish, and relatively effortless. Expect smoke when you remove bird-open the windows! Recipe adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, revised version.

Leave a Reply

