Read, Write, Run, Roam

Tidings of comfort and joy: Christmas Playlist


Srecan Bozic!

Behold, the first live tree Christmas tree for Muz and RHOB. And when I say live, I mean it. The tree is potted and we will return it to a nursery in the next few weeks. If we manage to keep it alive, that is.

The men who delivered our tree probably think we’re nuts to rent a tree for a month. Christmas trees aren’t common in Serbia. Instead, they have a yule log (badnjak) and bundled wheat. Does anyone else remember that NYC TV station that showed a burning log all Christmas Eve? I wonder if the station manager was Serbian…

Anyway, to get Serbians and Americans in the Christmas spirit, I tried to find a Serbian version of Jingle Bells. My teacher said it was one of the few carols we would recognize, but a quick internet search has proved fruitless. Maybe it’s for the best. I have a love-hate relationship with Christmas carols, at least in the U.S. I love them for the first two weeks I hear them on the radio, and then I can’t change the station fast enough.

Plus, if I hear too many versions of “Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer,” I’m reminded of a terrible three weeks working at The Limited in December, 1996. It was an awful job: rude customers, pompous managers, and clothing that I was forced to buy at a tiny discount. But what I truly hated was that they would play the same Christmas CD all day, over and over. Ugh. The company could sell a million $79.90 fleece rugby shirts, but was too cheap to buy a second CD of Christmas songs.

And yet, The Limited Christmas CD still couldn’t kill my love for a particularly cheesy song I’ve included below. That’s right, I’m giving you my Christmas playlist-one that you will not hear at a psuedo-preppy clothing store. Any favorite you think I should add? Let me know in the comments.

Christmas Playlist:

Santa Claus Go Straight to the Ghetto (James Brown)
Everybody’s Waiting for the Man with the Bag (Kay Starr Remix from Merry Mixmas)
Charlie Brown Christmas (Remix by Colossus)
Baby, it’s Cold Outside (Ray Charles and Betty Carter)
I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm (Kay Starr remix on Christmas Remixed)
Christmas Wrapping (The Waitresses)
Father Christmas (The Kinks)
Christmas in Hollis (Run DMC)
All I Want for Christmas is You (Mariah Carey) (Straight from The Limited Christmas CD!)
Peace on Earth (Bing Crosby and David Bowie)
This Christmas (Donny Hathaway)
Fairytale of New York (Pogues and Kirsty McColl)
Merry Christmas, Baby (Springsteen-but I rec’d John Lee Hooker’s version too)
Happy Xmas (John Lennon)

 

 

Leave a Reply

