Read, Write, Run, Roam

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…


I left my heart in Zagreb...along with some frostbitten toes.

I’m in Zagreb, where much of the population celebrates Christmas on December 25th, as opposed to the Serbian Orthodox Christmas on January 7th. It’s almost been a shock to to hear Christmas music and see trees set up around the city. We’re getting our first live tree for Christmas this year, and I bought this traditional Croatian ornament to decorate it. Back in the day this would have been a gingerbread cookie, but I opted for the less mice-attracting ceramic version instead.

The ornament is fitting since Zagreb is somewhat of a gingerbread city. There is a lot of  Austro-Hungarian architecture. This time of year there are Christmas markets set up in parks and mulled wine stands to help fight off the cold. It’s almost working-I walked around most of the city today without realizing the temperatures were in the 30s. Rakija, a Balkan brandy made from fruit, is starting to sound a lot more appealing as the temperatures drop. So are the fake-fur vests I laughed at when we first arrived. If I start wearing Uggs, please call the authorities.

4 responses

  1. KS

    The Christmas season sounds so fun over there! My grandma, who is Czech, made very similar ornaments from gingerbread when I was little. I have to admit that back then I was the mouse, and all the ornaments within my 6 yo reach would be nibbled by Christmas. 🙂

    December 13, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  2. Lisa

    We have a very similar ornament from our trip to Croatia in 2005… its hanging on our tree as we speak.

    December 13, 2010 at 9:43 pm

  3. BD

    Uggs might be just the thing to keep your toes toasty!

    December 14, 2010 at 2:36 am

  4. LB

    We hope you enjoy this Christmas, without the carols!

    Enjoy so much reading your blog! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and Muz!

    December 24, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Leave a Reply

