Read, Write, Run, Roam

Veggin’ out in Belgrade


It's easier to find Chester Copperpot than a Vegetarian Restaurant in Belgrade.

I’m having a bit of a love/hate relationship with meat: I hate how much I’m loving it lately. Is it the colder weather? The better quality? Or am I just too lazy to find a place with vegetarian entrees? It’s probably all three. Despite my new carnivorous ways, I missed eating a vegetarian meal.

On one of my many trips to Aca Bakery, I noticed a small basement restaurant across the street. Despite my limited Serbian skills, I realized I had hit the Holy Grail of Belgrade: a vegetarian restaurant.

I heard a rumor of vegetarian restaurants in Belgrade, but no one could confirm it. It seemed I had a better chance of running into the Easter rabbit than a vegetarian restaurant. (I certainly had a better chance of eating rabbit.)

So after some cajoling/bribing Muz with Aca, we went to Joy Vegetarian Restaurant on Svetogorska 18. It’s got an Indian/Middle Eastern vibe with samosas, falafel and tempeh on the menu. The salads were delicious and the portions, as always, were huge.

I’m definitely going back. Muz…maybe not. He liked his meal, but was disappointed that there is no alcohol served on the premises. I would have liked a beer, but was all too happy to forego it for a healthy and tasty meal.

I’m still on the meat kick, though. Between our new habits of cevapcici and Jelen with dinner, we’re acclimating fatter, I mean, faster than I thought we would.

One response

  1. Pera

    “Holy Grail of Belgrade: a vegetarian restaurant”. That’s good one.

    April 3, 2011 at 3:08 am

Leave a Reply

