Read, Write, Run, Roam

Black (and blue?) Friday


I'm stuffed!

Thanksgiving is over, which officially makes it Christmas season in the U.S. Here, not so much. Serbian Orthodox Christmas isn’t until January 7th, and it’s not a big gift-giving holiday. People traditionally exchange gifts with friends on New Years’ Eve, but they’re not getting up before 8 am to do it. (Late risers, Beogradjani. No wonder I like them.)

So instead of focusing on Christmas gifts, I’m thinking about working off  some of the food I ate yesterday. Regular readers will recall that my running regimen was cut short by the lack of paths and general shock of passerby. Fortunately, on a trip to Zemun, Muz and I found a great path along the water. Though technically, it was not a running path. The majority of people on it were…rollerblading.

I don’t really understand why, but people in Belgrade rollerblade like it’s 1989. There’s even a rollerblade race here in the fall. Of course, Belgrade is a city of extremes. I’ll bet there’s a Serbian expression along the lines of “go big or go home.” While many people are content to rollerblade casually along the river, others are doing stunts. On rollerblades. Why walk down stairs…when you can skate down the rail?

 

Image from Valo-Brand.com

In any event, don’t worry about me trying this. I’m too old, too smart, and too cheap to buy a pair of rollerblades. I can only imagine trying this and ending up in the hospital, trying to explain, in Serbian, how this was my alternative to running and Black Friday shopping. I’ll just embrace the spirit of 1989 exercise some other way…like listening to Neneh Cherry and dancing in legwarmers…

3 responses

  1. Try Ada Ciganlija – there you’ll have 6+ Kms to run around Ada’s lake

    November 26, 2010 at 9:08 am

  2. VP

    Hey, I was just rereading some of your older posts and came upon this. You probably haven’t heard of it, but my favorite expression in the vain of “go big or go home” is: “Kad je bal, nek je maskenbal.” It roughly translates as “When you’re having a ball, let it be a masquerade (ball).” I often hear it in the context of drinking (“Oh fuck it, lets take one more round/open that expensive bottle/grab another box of beer!”)

    But yeah, as you’ve correctly noticed, we Serbs are a people of extremes. 🙂

    September 25, 2011 at 7:27 pm

  3. I haven’t heard that one but I like it!

    September 25, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

