Read, Write, Run, Roam

Happy Thanksgiving!


In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’ll let you in on RHOB’s secret to successful holiday dinners: wine. Lots of it. This worked wonders during the first Thanksgiving I hosted, when the turkey took hours longer than I thought it would and we wound up carving around the less-than-done parts. I like to think the alcohol also prevented us from getting salmonella poisoning. Twofer!

If you’re not a drinker, you can always start the meal with rolls, corn bread, or biscuits. And if you can’t break bread in the U.S., being in Serbia is the next best thing.

Serbian bread is divine. There are bakeries on every corner. The bread is so fresh, and so tasty, that there’s no need for butter or olive oil. The only “negative” is that there are no preservatives, so you must eat it as soon as possible and buy it several times a week. (The things I put up with around here…) Which brings me to what I’m thankful for today: Aca Bakery.

Not the best photo, I know. The smell of freshly baked bread was too distracting...

Pekara Aca (pronounced Atsa, on Svetogorska 25) is supposedly one of the oldest bakeries in Belgrade, but I can’t find much about it online. Serbian friends have told us that it is where their parents buy baked goods for special occasions. Based on the lines outside the door every day, I’d say there are a lot of special occasions in Belgrade.

I think they’re known for their sweets, but I haven’t tried them yet. I am so addicted to their bread that I am truly frightened for what would happen if I started eating Aca cakes. So thank you, Aca, for showing me what great bread tastes like. And happy thanksgiving, everyone!

One response

  1. Check that copperplate. Under lions, you can see

    Основано: 28. феб. 1684. – Since: 28. Feb. 1684.

    (I can’t see clearly..it’s maybe 1984. too :D)

    November 25, 2010 at 11:08 am

Leave a Reply

