Read, Write, Run, Roam

Hvala, Muz: Sweet Potatoes in Serbia!


Behold, the North American Sweet Potato. On steroids.

Don’t worry, this blog isn’t turning into babble gushing over  Muz. (I’ll babble about entirely different things instead.) But I will say this: when you ask Muz for sweet potatoes, you GET sweet potatoes. Behold, one of the largest ones I have ever seen. Lest you think a dwarf is holding it, I’ve included a photo of said sweet potatoes on my new cooking bible, the large and updated “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman.

Despite the abundance of potatoes here, sweet potatoes are a rare find. I told Muz that I was surprised about this, and he was a man of action. I got a call from him a few days later, telling me that he ordered 10 pounds of sweet potatoes. For two people. Let’s just say cooking is not his strong suit.

 

I hope there's a sweet potato recipe in there somewhere...

Thanks also to our pal DB, who sent a surprise package of canned candied yams just in time to make pie…yum.

One response

  1. DB

    Hurray for sweet potatoes and candied yams.

    December 1, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

