Read, Write, Run, Roam

Balkan Weather


A common question I get about Belgrade is, “What’s the weather like?” From what I gather it’s pretty mild compared to the mid-Atlantic. Summers are not as hot, winters are not as cold. I can only presume that this makes people ambivalent about the weather, and weather reporting.

So what do television stations do to attract weather viewers? In Bosnia, it’s simple: they take a beautiful woman, remove most of her clothing, and have her deliver the weather report while gyrating before the cameras.  If only I were kidding. On the other hand, it seems like children’s Halloween costumes are in ready supply! Who knew?

On a semi-related note, this reminds me that someone who had been to Belgrade told me, “don’t get me wrong, you are attractive, but you will feel like a dog in Belgrade.” Good times ahead.

Comments are closed.